Allah is the Arabic name for Almighty God, and is often translated merely as “God”. Allah has other names that are used to describe His characteristics: the Creator, the Sustainer, the Merciful, the Compassionate, etc. One of the final verses of the Quran called “Surah Ihklas” (“Absoluteness”) describes Allah as follows:-

  • Say: He is Allah, the One!
  • Allah, the eternally Besought of all!
  • He begetteth not nor was begotten.
  • And there is none comparable unto Him.

Muslims believe that Allah alone is the Creator, it is He alone that deserves our devout love and worship. Islam holds to strict monotheism. Any worship and prayers directed to saints, prophets, other human beings or nature are considered idolatry.


The basic beliefs of Muslims fall into six main categories, which are known as the “Articles of Faith”:

  • Faith in the unity of Allah, the One and Only God
  • Faith in angels – belief in the existence of Angels, e.g. Gabriel
  • Faith in prophets – e.g. Adam, Ibrahim (Abraham), Musa (Moses), Dawud (David), Isa (Jesus) (peace be upon them all). Muhammad (peace be upon him) is the final prophet.
  • Faith in books of revelation – The Quran, The Gospel, The Psalms, The Torah, etc.
  • Faith in an afterlife – The day when the life of every human being will be assessed and judged by Allah.
  • Faith in destiny/divine decree – That Allah has already decided what will happen, but this doesn’t stop human beings making free choices.